Microsoft has ended support for its pre-IE11 browsers as of January 2016 and will be discontinuing IE11 support in August 2021.

If you are seeing this message, you are viewing the site on one of these unsupported browsers. We only support the recent versions of major browsers such as Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge.

Thank you.

(click to close and continue using this browser)

Home Research Awards McGuire – Zimskind Award

McGuire – Zimskind Award

Paul D. Zimskind, Jr. MD PhD graduated manga cum laude from Princeton University with a Bachelor’s of Science in 1953. He then completed a medical degree in 1957 at Jefferson Medical College and a Urology internship and residency at Thomas Jefferson University. His research career started early in his residency when he performed human and animal experiments on urethral dynamics. He spent his early career as a clinician scientist as part of a National institute of Health Research Fellowship at Thomas Jefferson and was honored as being one of twenty-five Academic Markle Scholars throughout the US and Canada. This work earned him his Doctor of Philosophy in Physiology in 1964. He continued his research in urodynamics and assumed the Chairmanship of the Department of Urology in 1967 as the Nathan Lewis Hatfield professor of Urology at the age of 36.

Dr. Zimskind performed research in fluorourodynamics of the normal and abnormal lower urinary tract as well as studies on patients with renovascular hypertension attempting to establish clinical criteria to differentiate between patients with potentially correctable causes of this disease. Other areas of scientific work that he was devoted to included renal and ureteral preservation for transplantation.

During his short career he published 43 scientific papers and gave 77 scientific presentations at meetings worldwide. He was remembered as an ardent supporter of research on the lower urinary tract at academic medical centers and was well liked by his peers.

His promising career was cut short from complications of Addison’s disease and at the young age of 46 he passed away on February 29, 1976.

Edward J. McGuire, MD was born in Lansing MI and graduated from the Wayne State University School of Medicine. He was then immediately drafted into the US Army in 1966 and spent 2 years on active duty. He served as a front-line medical officer and received the Army Commendation medal and four Bronze Stars, making him one of the most highly decorated medical officer of the Vietnam War. After his military service, he completed his urology training at Yale and stayed on there as a faculty member. In 1983 he joined the University of Michigan faculty as Section Head of Urology.  He stayed as Section Head for 10 years, and in 1993 he then assumed the leadership of Urology at the University of Texas in Houston. In 1999 he returned back to the University of Michigan and continued to practice there until 2017.

Dr. McGuire published over 250 scientific articles, 88 book chapters and 8 medical textbooks.  He also served as a Visiting Professor at over 100 institutions worldwide. During his career he was responsible for many tangible, innovative, and enduring advances in the field of urology. These include the importance of low-pressure urine storage in preventing kidney damage, the usefulness of videourodynamics, and the ability of slings and injections to treat SUI.  He was also well ahead of his time in embracing a collaborative relationship with Urogynecology and in actively practicing gender, racial and cultural diversity in the selection of trainees and employees.  Dr. McGuire was a founding member and former president of the Urodynamics Society (now known as SUFU), an associate editor of The Journal of Urology and the Journal of Pelvic Surgery. He served as feature editor of the Journal of Neurourology and Urodynamics. Ed was a member of the AUA, the American Association of Genito-Urinary Surgeons, the Clinical Society of Genito-Urinary Surgeons, and the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons, among other organizations.

In 1979 The Society of Urodynamic Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction (SUFU) established the Paul Zimskind Award, given annually to a member of their organization, who are within ten years of completing residency or fellowship, and have made significant contributions to the field, primarily through basic and clinical research, and has shown great potential for continuing and progressive scholarship. In recognition of Dr. McGuire’s accomplishment, the award was changed to the Zimskind-McGuire Award in 2022.

McGuire – Zimskind Award Winners

  • 2023 A. Lenore Ackerman, MD, PhD
  • 2022 Benjamin M. Brucker, MD
  • 2021 Una J. Lee, MD, FPMRS
  • 2020 Anne M. Suskind, MD, MS
  • 2019 Stuart Reynolds, MD, MPH
  • 2018 Anne K. Pelletier-Cameron, MD, FPMRS
  • 2017 Melissa Kaufman, MD, PhD
  • 2016 Adam Klausner, MD
  • 2015 Henry Lai, MD
  • 2014 Quentin Clemens, MD
  • 2013 Jennifer Anger, MD
  • 2012 Alexander Gomelsky, MD
  • 2011 Gary E. Lemack, MD
  • 2010 Kathleen C. Kobashi, MD
  • 2009 Michael E. Albo, MD
  • 2008 Larissa V. Rodriguez, MD
      Los Angeles, CA
  • 2007 Firouz Daneshgari, MD
      Syracuse, NY
  • 2006 Christopher Patrick Smith, MD
      Houston, TX
  • 2005 Toby C. Chai, MD
      Baltimore, MD
  • 2004 R. Duane Cespedes, MD
      San Antonio, TX
  • 2003 George D. Webster, MD
      Durham, NC
  • 2002 Deborah R. Erickson, MD
      Lexington, KY
  • 2001 Christopher R. Chapple, Bsc, MD, FRCS
      Sheffield, England, UK
  • 2000 Victor William Nitti, MD
      New York, NY
  • 1999 Roger Roman Dmochowski, MD
      Nashville, TN
  • 1998 Sender Herschorn, MD
      Toronto, ON
  • 1997 Philippe E. Zimmern, MD
      Dallas, TX
  • 1996 Neil M. Resnick, MD
      Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1995 Klaus Moller Jenson, MD
  • 1994 Michael B. Chancellor, MD
      Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1993 John O. De Lancey, MD
  • 1992 Jacek Lech Mostwin, MD
      Baltimore, MD
  • 1991 William D. Steers, MD
      Charlottesville, VA
  • 1990 Pat D. O'Donnell, MD
      Little Rock, AR
  • 1989 Robert M. Levin, PhD
      Albany, NY
  • 1988 J.W. Downie
      Halifax, NS
  • 1986 Ahmed Elbadawi, MD
      Fayettville, NY
  • 1985 Jerry G. Blaivas, MD
      New York, NY
  • 1984 Michael B. Siroky, MD
      Boston, MA
  • 1982 Richard A. Schmidt, MD
      North Platte, NE
  • 1981 Subbarao V. Yalla, MD
      Boston, MA
  • 1980 George S. Benson, MD
      Potomac, MD
  • 1979 Thorsten Sundin, MD